It was a good year for Arcanum Hailey Unger & Tri-Village Rylee Sagester. Both were names Co-Players of the year in the Southwest District in their respective divisions. (Dale Barger Photo)

All-Southwest District Girls Basketball Teams

The Ohio Prep Sportswriters Association has released the All-Southwest District Girls Basketball Teams and several Darke County girls highlight the list.

In Division IV Tri-Village Rylee Sagester was a 1st team selection and the Southwest District Co-Player of the year with Ft. Loramie Ava Sholtis.  Joining her on the 1st team was Tri-Village Morgan Hunt and Bradford Austy Miller.  Tri-Village Meghan Downing was 2nd team and Torie Richards was Honorable Mention.  Franklin Monroe Skylar Bauman and  Mississinawa Valley Taylee Woodbury also received Honorable Mention.

In Division III Arcanum Hailey Unger was a 1st team selection and also the Southwest District Co-Player of the year with Dee Alexander of Cincinnati Purcell Marian.   Arcanum Madelyn Fearon and Taylor Gray were both 3rd team selections and Versailles Jenna Dirksen received Honorable Mention.

Below is a list of al the DIII & DIV Teams.

Division III

First Team

Isabella Casoni, Waynesville, 5’5” Sr., 15.1 ppg., Hailey Unger, Arcanum, 5’7” Sr., 18 ppg., Dee Alexander Purcell Marian, 6’1”, Fr., 25 ppg., 12 rpg., Sierra Brinson New Lebanon Dixie, 5’9”, So., 20.5 ppg, 10.5 rpg., Libby Evanshine, East Clinton, 5’10” Jr., 16 ppg., 7.8 rpg., Claire Henry, Springfield Greenon, 5’9”, Jr., 15.7ppg.

Second Team
Campbell Jewell, Camden Preble Shawnee 5’6”, Jr., 13,4 ppg., Karley Moore, Tipp City Bethel, 5’11”, Jr., 16.6 ppg., 7.1 rpg., Elizabeth Watson, Deer Park, 5’10”, Jr., 12 ppg., 10 rpg., Abby West, Springfield Greenon, 5’10”, Jr., 15.8 ppg, 6.0 rpg., Jayda Mosley Purcell Marian, 5’8”, So., 14 ppg., 
Liv Thompson, Camden Preble Shawnee, 5’7”, Jr., 14.7 ppg.

Third Team

Skyler Ward, New Paris National Trail, 5’7” Sr., 17.1 ppg., Lindsey Arwine, Williamsburg, 5’3”, Sr., 13.7ppg., 6.8 rpg., Taylor Gray, Arcanum, 5’11” Sr., 12.2 ppg., 6.2 rpg., Kayli Brewer, Anna, 5’2” Sr., 12.5 ppg., Madelyn Fearon, Arcanum, 5’6”, Sr., 11 ppg., 5.5 apg., Ky’AiraMiller Purcell Marian, 5’8”, Fr., 11 ppg., 6 rpg.

Co-Player of the Year: Hailey Unger, Arcanum, Dee Alexander Cincinnati Purcell Marian

Coach of the Year: Jamar Mosley Purcell Marian

Honorable Mention

Chaley Wade, West-Liberty Salem, Kaylee Lawson, Carlisle, Alena Seaquist, Miamisburg Dayton Christian, Isabella Ferriman, Miamisburg Dayton Christian, Yamiyah Craver, Miamisburg Dayton Christian, Jillian McIntosh, Carlisle, Isabella Allison, Springfield Northeastern, Faith Fisher, New Lebanon Dixie, Stephanie Alstaetter, Indian Lake, Zhieyah Rolack, Dayton Meadowdale, LeShelle Bennett, Dayton Meadowdale, Jordan Collom East Clinton, Kerigan Calhoun, Tipp City Bethel, Jenna Brumbaugh, West Milton Milton-Union, Carley Holbert, Reading, Ashley Bee, Bethel-Tate, Haley Johnson, Bethel-Tate, Abbie Dunn, Bethel-Tate, Macaiah Byrd, New Paris National Trail, J’Da Jackson, New Paris National Trail, Makiah Newport, Twin Valley South, Jordan Ritchie, Twin Valley South, Brionna Abner, Twin Valley South, Ava Dubose, Clark Montessori, Trinity Small, Purcell Marian, Priya Jenkins, Cincinnati Seven Hills, Riley Jones, Cincinnati Seven Hills, Ellie Snyder, Jamestown Greeneview, Maryn Gross, Casstown Miami East, Paxton Hunley, Casstown Miami East, Harlee Howard, Camden Preble Shawnee, Jenna Dirksen, Versailles, Kaylee Williams, Deer Park, Kylie McCormick, Deer Park, Damysia Knox, Gamble Montessori, Reagan Beverly, Clermont Northeastern, Tiffany Drewry, Clermont Northeastern, Piper Ritter, Clermont Northeastern, Lauren Runyon, East Clinton, Maggie Arno, Williamsburg, Ava Berberich, West Milton Milton-Union,

Division IV

First Team

Rylee Sagester, New Madison Tri-Village, 5’7”, Jr., 16.5 ppg., 4.2 rpg., 4.2 apg.,  Morgan Hunt, New Madison Tri-Village, 5’11”, Jr., 15.0 ppg., 9.3 rpg., Ava Sholtis, Fort Loramie, 5’10”, Sr., 12.8 ppg., 7.2 rpg., Austy Miller, Bradford, 5’6”, Sr., 22.2 ppg., 8.5 apg., Sarah Zimmerman, Cincinnati Country Day, 6’0”, Sr., 15 ppg., 8 rpg., Melody Arnett, Miami Valley Christian Academy, 6’5” Sr., 18.9 ppg., 23.2 rpg.

Second Team

Carmen Heuker, Botkins, 5’5”, Sr., 15.0 ppg., 6.9 rpg.,  Anne Murphy Fayetteville, 5’7”, Jr., 16.6 ppg., Angie Smith Yellow Springs, 5’7” Sr., 21.3 ppg., 8.7 rpg., Meghan Downing New Madison Tri-Village, 6’2”, Sr., 13.4 ppg., 10.7 rpg., Grace Barnes, Cincinnati Country Day, 5’8” Jr., 15.5 ppg., Claudia Harrington, Covington, 5’6”, Sr., 16 ppg., 5.1 rpg.

Third Team

Mallory Mullen, Springfield Catholic Central, 5’11”, Sr., 14.0 ppg., 12.8 rpg., Rilee Terry Lewisburg Tri-County North, 6’0”, Sr., 10.5 ppg., 12 rpg., Colleen Brandewie, Fort Loramie, 5’7” Sr., 11.3 ppg., Sarah Johnson, Troy Christian, 6’2”, Sr., 13 ppg., 11 rpg., Lonna Heath Fairlawn, 5’10”, Sr., 20.5 ppg., 6 rpg., Megan Zimmerman, Cincinnati Country Day, 5’8”, So., 9.8 ppg..

Co-Player of the Year: Rylee Sagester, New Madison Tri-Village, Ava Sholtis, Fort Loramie

Coach of the Year: Jessica Spitler, Tri-County North

Honorable Mention

Torie Richards, New Madison Tri-Village, Boston Paul, Botkins, Mara O’Leary, Sidney Lehman Catholic, Kate Sherman, Russia, Cece Borchers, Russia, Kelsey Vollrath, Springfield Southeastern, Lilly Hudson, Springfield Southeastern, Brooklyn Lavy, Troy Christian, Camryn Gleason, Pleasant Hill Newton, Carlie Besecker, Covington, Maggie Anderson, Covington, Claire Fraley, Covington, Grace Anderson, Covington, Olivia Skillings, Mechanicsburg, Addie DeLong, Mechanicsburg, Molly Mossing, Cedarville, Ciara Horney, Cedarville, Hannah Webster, Tri-County North, Frances Park, Xenia Legacy Christian Academy, Taylee Woodbury, Union City Mississinawa Valley, Aaliyah Longshaw, Yellow Springs, Corinne Totty, Yellow Springs, Laura Moser, Miami Valley Christian Academy, Skylar Bauman, Franklin-Monroe, Riley Finn, Ripley, Taylor McElfresh, Felicity-Franklin, Angela Jones, Felicity-Franklin, Olivia Crawford, Fayetteville, Claire Fraley, Covington, Jade Copas, Riverside

Tri-Village had a good showing in the DIV All-Southwest District. Joining Sagester was Morgan Hunt, Meghan Downing & Torie Richards with honors. (Dale Barger Photo)
Arcanum Madelyn Fearon & Taylor Gray joined Unger for DIII Southwest District Honors. (Dale Barger Photo)
Bradford Austy Miller was a 1st Team All-Southwest District player in DIV. (Dale Barger Photo)
Frankin Monroe Skylar Bauman & Mississinawa Taylee Woodbury received Honorable Mention in DIV and Versailles Jenna Dirksen in DIII. (Dale Barger Photo)

Dale Barger / Sports Editor

Dale Barger is a lifelong sports enthusiast and has covered high school athletics for nearly 20 years in Southwest Ohio and now becomes sports editor for Darke County now. For 18 years Dale has been a sportswriter for The Daily Advocate and has been published in online sorts magazines and conference websites. Dale is also an accomplished photographer who has captured thousands of athletes in action over the years. Dale is a member of The Ohio Prep Sportswriters Association and was a 2019 recipient of the Ohio High School Athletic Association Southwest District Media Service Award. Dale lives on a 72-acre farm outside of New Madison, Ohio and is married to Rita Ann (Fourman) Barger and together they have two sons and three grandkids. If you don’t see Dale at a sporting event you might catch him following his other passion – photographing nature and wildlife. Contact Darke County Now Editor Media Sports Editor Dale Barger at

Previous Andy J. Arnett of Greenville, Ohio (89)

Get Daily Updates

[mc4wp_form id="228"]
The Darke County Now Logo with White Font

News, Media and Information for Darke County, Ohio.

News, Media, and Information for Darke County, Ohio.

Service Request

Useful Links

More Info